SCIAC Women's Cross Country All-Conference Honors Announced

SCIAC Women's Cross Country All-Conference Honors Announced

The 2019 All-Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) Women's Cross Country teams were announced Friday. First Team All-SCIAC honors were determined by the top 10 finishers at the SCIAC Championships, while the Second Team All-SCIAC members were determined by the next 10 to cross the finish line. The Newcomer, Celia Peterson, and Coaching Staff of the Year accolades were voted on by the league's member head coaches. 

After being voted the SCIAC Newcomer of the Year in 2018, Lila Cardillo earned 2019 SCIAC Athlete of the Year honors following her top finish at this year's SCIAC Championship. Cardillo led the field with a top time of 21:40.0 as the Sagehens finished second in the 6-kilometer event with a team score of 64. Cardillo averaged 5.48.6 per mile and finished 10 seconds ahead of the second place runner. 

Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (CMS) first-year Isabella Brusco was voted the 2019 SCIAC Newcomer of the Year. Brusco was the highest placing first-year in the race finishing 13th overall with a time of 23:00.9 en route to second team all-conference honors as she helped pace the Athenas to the overall team victory. 

Skye Reese (Electrical Engineering major, 3.5 GPA from Concord N.H.) was voted the Celia Peterson Award winner, and is in her fourth year of cross country at Caltech and second year as captain. Her early career was marred by injuries but her perseverance while pursuing what is widely viewed as the most difficult major at Caltech has been a source of inspiration to her teammates. Already as a senior she has run course PR?s by several minutes. Her 5km cross country time from the Master's Invitational was nearly a full minute faster than her track & field 5k personal-best. She ranks 3rd on the Caltech All-time list for 10km and has been instrumental in the women's cross country team improvement. When she entered Caltech, the program record for 6km team average was 25:06. It now sits at 23:04. These improvements were made possible through her own accomplishments but additionally her mentorship of younger runners on the team. Outside of running, she has worked at Elementary Robotics, DECA Research the past two summers as an electrical engineering intern. She also directs a Caltech a capella group. She is currently applying for PhD programs in electrical engineering. 

CMS head coach John Goldhammer and the Athenas' coaching staff earned the 2019 SCIAC Coaching Staff of the Year award for a third consecutive season after a vote conducted by his peers. Goldhammer, now in his 36th season in charge of the men's and women's cross country programs, has led the Athenas to 23 of the last 26 conference titles, and 10 straight since 2010. 

SCIAC Athlete
of the Year
SCIAC Newcomer
of the Year
Celia Peterson
SCIAC Coaching
Staff of the Year
Lila Cardillo
Isabella Brusco
Skye Reese
John Goldhammer
First Team All-SCIAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Lila Cardillo Pomona-Pitzer So. Pasadena, Calif.
Helen Guo Pomona-Pitzer Sr. San Ramon, Calif.
Riley Harmon CMS So. Albany, Calif.
Sabrina Thurber Occidental Sr. Riverside, Conn.
Claire Hu Caltech Jr. Palo Alto, Calif.
Maria Ramirez Redlands Sr. Orange, Calif.
Oliva Gleason CMS Jr. Long Beach, Calif.
Abby Johnson CMS Jr. Bellingham, Wash.
Brooklyn Button CMS So. Irvine, Calif.
Dulcie Jones CMS Jr. Lake Oswego, Ore.
Second Team All-SCIAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Sophie Gitlin CMS So. Pasadena, Calif.
Kayla Lim Occidental Jr. Piedmont, Calif.
Isabella Brusco CMS Fy. Castro Valley, Calif.
Georgia Scherer CMS Jr. Oakland, Calif.
Molly Crotteau Caltech Jr. Chicago, Ill.
Carly Veasy Redlands Sr. Camas, Wash.
Isabella Glenn Redlands So. Seattle, Wash.
Emily Clarke CMS So. Cedar Creek, N.M.
Abigail Loiselle Pomona-Pitzer Fy. Wallingford, Pa.
Gabriella Kimmerly CMS Jr. Seattle, Wash.