Pomona-Pitzer Clinches 2019 NCAA Division III Championship Crown!

Pomona-Pitzer Clinches 2019 NCAA Division III Championship Crown!

Final Results | Pomona-Pitzer Release | NCAA Release

A week after winning the NCAA Division III West Region title, the third-ranked Sagehens clinched the program's first-ever NCAA Division III Men's Cross Country national championship on Saturday morning at the EP Tom Sawyer State Park in Louisville, Ky.

Pomona-Pitzer logged 164 points to place first in the 32-team field. North Central (Ill.) finished second with 182 points, while Williams was in third with 183 points. Washington University (Mo.) placed fourth (193) and Johns Hopkins finished fifth (208). Fifth-ranked Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (CMS) added a sixth place finish with 222 points. The Sagehen's national title is just the second national crown for a Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) men's cross country team as Occidental was the only other team to win it in 1977. The Tigers had previously finished as runners-up in 1974 and 1975.

Patrick Watson of Stevenson won the individual title, completing the 8-kilometer course with a championship time of 24:13.9. Matthew Wilkinson of Carleton finished second with a time of 24:19.6, while CMS's Thomas D'Anieri - the 2019 SCIAC Athlete of the Year - followed in third with a mark of 24:25.2. 

Ethan Widlansky was Pomona-Pitzer's top harrier with a time of 24:32.9 to place seventh overall, while Dante Paszkeicz added a 16th place finish with a time of 24:48.5. Finishing 41st overall was Daniel Rosen in 24:57.9, while Ethan Ashby followed in 68th with a time of 25:15.0. Owen Keiser clocked a time of 25:15.8 to finish 71st, Hugo Ward added a time of 25:35.8 and was 122nd, and Joseph Hesse-Withbroe was 164th with a time of 25:51.5. 

For the Stags, finishing behind D'Anieri in 42nd place was Kyril Van Schendel (24:58.8), while Stevie Steinberg clocked a time of 25:08.0 to finish 51st overall. Henry Pick - the 2019 SCIAC Newcomer of the Year - logged a time of 25:23.8 to cross the line 89th, while Miles Christensen finished 90th with a time of 25:24.3. Will Kimball (25:31.0) and Daniel Krasemann (26:12.4) added respective marks of 108 and 219 overall. 

Redlands' Tucker Cargile finished the race 24th overall in a time of 24:51.1, while Simon Ricci of Caltech recorded a time of 25:27.8 to place 101st overall. Occidental's Matt Scarlett (25:59.4) and La Verne's Matthew Salas (26:10.9) rounded out the SCIAC individual field in 186th and 210th place respectively. 

Earning All-American honors with their top 40 performances were D'Anieri, Widlansky, Paszkeicz, and Cargile.