SCIAC Men's Cross Country All-Conference Honors Announced

SCIAC Men's Cross Country All-Conference Honors Announced

The 2019 All-Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) Men's Cross Country teams were announced Friday. First Team All-SCIAC honors were determined by the top 10 finishers at the SCIAC Championships, while the Second Team All-SCIAC members were determined by the next 10 to cross the finish line. The Newcomer, Ray Adkinson, and Coaching Staff of the Year accolades were voted on by the league's member head coaches.  

Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (CMS) senior harrier Thomas D'Anieri was the 2019 SCIAC Athlete of the Year following his first place finish in the men's 8-kilometer race at the 2019 SCIAC Championships. D'Anieri clocked a time of 24:52.0 to help drive the Stags to a sixth conference title in the last eight years. D'Anieri finished the 2017 championships third overall and earned first team all-conference honors as a sophomore, and also earned first team honors as a first-year in 2016. 

Newcomer of the Year accolades went to CMS's Henry Pick, who was the top first-year runner at the meet and finished 10th overall. Pick notched a time of 25:22.3 in his debut championship race and earned first team honors and was the fifth Stag to cross the finish line. 

Simon Ricci (4.0 GPA, physics major, Chicago, Ill.) was voted the Ray Adkinson Award winner and has led the Caltech Cross Country team from the moment he set foot on-campus, having been named Team MVP every season so far. In the process he has led a team that finished 16th at regionals his freshmen year on a transformational journey to 8th in his junior year with a chance to improve upon that in his final season. He has previously earned All-Sciac and All-Region honors in his career and already this season turned in the fastest 8km time in Caltech school history. Beyond his performances, his greatest contribution to the team has been his relentless positivity and support of his teammates. He has also served as Track & Field captain since his junior year. Simon was an active member in campus organizations throughout his career, including his election to serve as one of 9 dorm/house presidents his junior year. He spent the last two summers interning in analytics departments with Major League baseball teams (Houston Astros and Chicago Cubs) and hopes to pursue a career in sports analytics after graduation.

John Goldhammer and the CMS coaching staff were voted the 2019 SCIAC Coaching Staff of the Year. Goldhammer led his team to a sixth SCIAC Championship in the last eight seasons and first since 2016. Both CMS and Pomona-Pitzer registered 31 points in the race and the Stags edged the Sagehens in the tiebreaker to clinch the 2019 crown. This is Goldhammer's second Coaching Staff of the Year honor on the men's side having previously won it in 2016. 

SCIAC Athlete
of the Year
SCIAC Newcomer
of the Year
Ray Adkinson
SCIAC Coaching
Staff of the Year
Thomas D'Anieri
Henry Pick
Simon Ricci
John Goldhammer
First Team All-SCIAC
Name Institution Year Hometown

Thomas D'Anieri

CMS Sr. Wellesley, Mass.
Ethan Widlansky Pomona-Pitzer So. Seattle, Wash.
Owen Keiser Pomona-Pitzer So. Jordan, Minn.
Tucker Cargile Redlands Jr. Denver, Colo.
Miles Christensen CMS So. Downers Grove, Ill.
Joseph Hesse-Withbroe Pomona-Pitzer So.  
Stevie Steinberg CMS Jr. Los Angeles, Calif.
Kyril van Schendel CMS So. Carpinteria, Calif.
Dante Paszkeicz Pomona-Pitzer So. Bellevue, Wash. 
Henry Pick CMS Fy. Ventura, Calif.
Second Team All-SCIAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Daniel Rosen Pomona-Pitzer Sr. Chicago, Ill.
Will Kimball CMS Jr. Sammamish, Wash.
Hugo Ward Pomona-Pitzer Jr. Stockholm, Sweden
Owen Woo Pomona-Pitzer Jr. Berkeley, Calif.
Ethan Ashby Pomona-Pitzer Jr. Chicago, Ill.
Daniel Krasemann CMS Fy. Suffield, Conn.
Simon Ricci Caltech Sr. Chicago, Ill.
Jack Rosencrans Pomona-Pitzer Fy. Glen Head, N.Y.
Leonard McComas Pomona-Pitzer So. Bozeman, Mon.
Oliver Chang Pomona-Pitzer So. Pasadena, Calif.
Wilson Ives CMS Sr. Seattle, Wash.